There are two ways to delete emails from Gmail: “Archive” and “Delete”. When you delete an email, it is sent to the “Recycle Bin”, where it remains for 30 days. You can also empty it earlier to immediately free up space.

While an “archived” email is not actually deleted, “deleted” emails eventually disappear forever. Gmail keeps them in the “Recycle Bin” for 30 days in case you change your mind. After that they are gone forever, but you can speed up the process if you want.

To empty the recycle bin, you will need to open Gmail in a desktop browser or on your iPhone, iPad, Where Android device. Use the hamburger menu button in the upper left corner of the screen to expand the menu (if it isn’t already) and select “Recycle Bin”.

Faucet "Waste" in the sidebar.

At the top of the screen, you will see a message explaining that the recycle bin is deleted after 30 days. Select “Empty Trash Now” to do it now.

To select "Empty the trash now" to do so immediately.

A confirmation message will make sure you want to empty the trash. Select “Empty” to continue.

To confirm "Empty" proceed.

That’s all we can say about it. Enjoy your perfectly clean digital trash can and a little more space in your Google Account.

RELATED: How to unarchive an email in Gmail


LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here