WhatsApp takes the magazine out of Snapchat’s original game book by adding a new one disappearing photo and video option, which automatically sees these visual elements after deletion, providing users with another privacy option.

Wow, right? Snapchat did it only in 2011?

Displacing findings, the new process provides another communication option in WhatsApp that can be used to share private information such as passwords and the like.

But really, it’s used to send naked. We all know that.

As explained WhatsApp:

Like all personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption, so WhatsApp cannot see them. They must also be clearly marked with a new “one-off” icon. “

WhatsApp has been developing the option for some time and has given various examples of how it works in testing leaking into the network. And while it’s very similar to the missing messages on Snapchat, there’s one significant variation – WhatsApp users aren’t notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording of the content.

WhatsApp has been under pressure recently as it has noticed changes in its privacy policy and its links to parent company Facebook.

Many users removed the app earlier in the year after WhatsApp announced that it will soon share more user information with Facebook to improve its business tools. WhatsApp has since sought to provide more clarity for change, in response to a counterattack (for clarity, your personal messages will not be affected), but there is apparently a constant mistrust of the app and its future data sharing plans.

In this regard, disappearing content could be seen as a way to regain some of the public’s credibility by improving its privacy tools, but at the same time it could also add a more fun and engaging way to share certain updates and increase in-app interaction.

Functionally, it’s not a big revelation, as several messaging apps offer similar capacity for a while, but that’s another factor to consider in WhatsApp, the world’s most widely used messaging app.

The new option will be available to all users starting this week – you can read more about how it works and how to protect your privacy, here.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here